Murderland Authored by Garrett Cook

Murderland Authored by Garrett Cook

Jeremy Jenkins is a pharmacist living a nightmare. America has made serial killing provisionally legal. What was once a crime is now a game. Juvenile delinquent Reapkids dressed as history’s deadliest murderers roam the streets causing chaos. Cannibal Godless Jack Cavanagh is on every morning show. And Jeremy’s girlfriend Cass, the love of his life, can’t get enough of it. Could be worse. Creatures from another dimension could be infiltrating ours getting our women pregnant. He could live with the guilt of being history’s most prolific serial killer. The fate of a world not worth saving could rest on his broad shoulders. Maybe they are. Maybe he is. Maybe it does.

click link to see the True Reap commence.

click link to see the True Reap commence.

I Liked Garrett Cook Before He Became a Legend. Suck On That, World.

By Isobel Irons

I’ll be honest, I waited as long as I possibly could to actually read this book. Because I’ve read enough of this author’s other content to know that, as a writer, reading this book was going to make me feel really bad about myself. And I was right. It did.
To me, that’s the mark of a great novelist. (Not just a good one, but a great one.) The ability to have a really amazing concept that is so simple in its inception that it makes everyone who hears about it go, “Wow, that is a really f—ing great idea. Why the h— didn’t I think of that? I could have written this book first and become so, so famous!” But because this author isn’t just a good writer, but a GREAT one, he quickly squashes that fledgling impulse by executing said concept with such skill and panache, such hard-core bada–ery, that anyone considering ripping off his idea must immediately throw up their hands and go, “Nope! You win, Garrett. You are better than me, at everything.”
Then they just sit back and enjoy the rest of the story. (Which I assure you, is just as excellent as the premise.)
That’s the mark of a good reader, I guess. Sadly, I have never been a good reader. And I’m definitely not as great of a writer as Garrett Cook. But I’m writing this review anyway, as kind of a formal act of surrender. A hundred years from now, when people are still reading and talking about this book, probably in AP Senior English Lit (or whatever kind of classes they have on the moon), I guarantee some smart a– moon-abiding teenager is going to raise his or her hand and be like “I read Murderland before it was assigned.” And the other moon teens will roll their eyes and hate on that futuristic hipster kid because nobody likes a show off.
Anyway, I would’ve given this book five stars, but I deducted one star on grounds of jealousy. Because I’m petty. So sue me.

~ by MorbidbookS, Extreme Fiction Publisher. on March 17, 2014.

One Response to “Murderland Authored by Garrett Cook”

  1. “There’s no way to prepare, no way to protect yourself. Garrett Cook’s work has an edge..and it’s at your throat-” Robert Dunbar, Bram Stoker nominee, author of Martyrs and Monsters

    “Action! Explosions! Hot broads! Garrett Cook is two fisted Bizarro pulp. I love his stories!”- Jeff Burk, author of Shatnerquake

    Like

Leave a comment

 
K. Ms' Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ghost Cities

Tales of Mystery and the Supernatural

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

dranthonysblog

A guy with a desk...

The Official Colonel Sanders Podcast

An All American Rags to Chickens Story

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing Seeds for the Kingdom

whipstitchbitch's bipolar sewing bananza

a bipolar girl who loves sewing

Jon R. Meyers

A Bizarre Collection of Creative Writing and Random Banter

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

The Dystopian Nation of City-State

A cruel, futuristic vision created by science fiction authors James Courtney and Kaisy Wilkerson-Mills. ©2013-2016. All Rights Reserved. All writings available through Amazon.

bdhesse

A writing WordPress.com site

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

WELCOME TO THE MEAT PARADE

NEO-BEAT PROPHETS DRIVEN BY HORROR TRANSMIT TELEPATHIC BIZARRO INTO THE AUDIENT VOID

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

The Ignited Mind !

"If you are resolutely determined to make a lawyer of yourself, the thing is more than half done already" - Abraham Lincoln.

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction