WARFACE: A Roller Derby Mystery

Lead jammer rocks out at Roller derby; Bay Are...

Lead jammer rocks out at Roller derby; Bay Area Derby Girls (All-female, amateur, flat-track roller derby league in San Francisco, CA): Richmond Wrecking Belles vs San Francisco ShEvil Dead (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: A jammer with the Charlotte(NC) Rolle...

Roller Derby, Arcata California

I’m feeling down and dirty, feeling kind of mean, so I give those fans my middle finger. Those poor bastards go nuts. My team looks at me in awe. My coach frowns and the opposing one begins to furiously scratch out new plays. The Warface is feeling her oats tonight and they all know they’re in for a deep snag.
I see our opponents and I almost feel sorry for the poor bastards. Their fans can’t help them. Their coach can’t help them. I’m going to run them off their own track in front of their own fans and there is not one thing they can do about it.
I see my counterpart positioning herself on the outside line. I’ve got my eye on her and I’ve got her number. She is going nowhere. I’m going to body check her narrow ass off the track and into the third row. I hear the second whistle sound.
The jammers are starting to move behind us as I veer toward her. I lower my right shoulder. She sees me at the last second. I smile as her eyes open wide. I get speed, lean in deep and hit her. My jammer, Brute, slides up my left side. I see the opposing jammer shimmy through the wall and I give chase.
Silly rabbit, no one gets past the Warface.
Not tonight they don’t.

TWO KIDNAPPINGS DON’T MAKE A RIGHT …

 

 “What’s the matter, doll,” asked Sammy. “You look like hammered shit.”

  “Our two starting jammers just had their children abducted right out of their own home.”

  “Jesus that’s horrible.”

  “Yes it is. That’s why I’m gonna search high and low for them.”

  “But isn’t that the Sherriff’s job, honey?”

  “Yes, but they have rules they have to follow, whereas I’m not hamstrung by any sort of due process.”

  “Ok, but do you at least have a plan?”

  “Yes. I plan on finding the children and returning them to their mothers.”

  “And then?”

  I looked at Sammy. I was already way past mad. “I need to borrow your gun,” I told him, “And some ammo.”

  Sammy gazed at me quizzically, but only for a moment more. “Okay,” he told me. Then he went to get it.

~ by MorbidbookS, Extreme Fiction Publisher. on October 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
K. Ms' Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ghost Cities

Tales of Mystery and the Supernatural

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

dranthonysblog

A guy with a desk...

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing Seeds for the Kingdom

whipstitchbitch's bipolar sewing bananza

a bipolar girl who loves sewing

Jon R Meyers

A Bizarre Collection of Creative Writing and Random Banter

Letters To Dionysus

I'm a nightmarist, baby.

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

The Dystopian Nation of City-State

A cruel, futuristic vision created by science fiction authors James Courtney and Kaisy Wilkerson-Mills. ©2013-2016. All Rights Reserved. All writings available through Amazon.

bdhesse

A writing WordPress.com site

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

WELCOME TO THE MEAT PARADE

NEO-BEAT PROPHETS DRIVEN BY HORROR TRANSMIT TELEPATHIC BIZARRO INTO THE AUDIENT VOID

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

The Ignited Mind !

"If you are resolutely determined to make a lawyer of yourself, the thing is more than half done already" - Abraham Lincoln.

