Burn, “33 A.D.”, BURN

David McAfee

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jerusalem, 33 A.D. The vampires of the era have long sought to gain a foothold into Israel, but the faith of the local Jewish population has held them in check for centuries.
When one of their own betrays them to follow a strange young rabbi from Galilee, the elders of the vampire race dispatch Theron, a nine hundred year old assassin, to kill them both.

The rabbi’s name is Jesus. Killing him should be easy.”

The Good:                                                                               

Wonderful,September 28, 2010

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: 33 A.D. (Kindle Edition)

For the second night in a row I sat in bed reading this book while a slight smile played on my lips. Once agian the clock read 2:30, but I still had a chapter to go. When I read the final words of the book (and the epiloge hungry for more) I did something i have never done before. I flipped open the book to page one and began reading it all over again til I fell asleep in it’s pages.

I can not stress how much I adore this book. I never review ANYTHING but this is book is the first that allowed me to answer the famous “what’s your favorite book” question. Simple, 33 A.D.

The characters are easy to relate to and the scenes are gorey in the best way, i’m only sad that the next book picks up with a new character for i have indeed fallen in love with the twisted lead in the book. Theron. I can’t wait to read more of David‘s work. 33 A.D is a marvalous novel which I absolutely did forget my own world in while reading.

The BAD:

 Great Idea, So-so Delivery,April 22, 2011

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: 33 A.D. (Kindle Edition)

I really wanted to like this book. I thought the premise behind it is just completely genius. But unfortunately the author’s writing style didn’t jive with me. It’s hard to put my finger on it but the word that comes to mind is “unpolished.”

There are a few specific things that really irked me but some are spoilers so I’ll only mention one thing: the way the author depicted Roman soldiers and their dialogue. I’m not saying I’m an expert in the field but it just didn’t seem authentic. There were phrases that they would use that seemed anachronistic.

I don’t want to write more for fear of sounding too harsh. Like I said before the premise behind this story is great and I really wanted to enjoy this book. I just… didn’t.

And The UGLY:

Simply poor,April 13, 2011

By 
Yaran “Yarecki” (Secaucus, NJ United States) – See all my reviews
 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: 33 A.D. (Paperback)

The premise of the book by David McAfee resonated well with me: vampires running afoul in Roman’s Jerusalem in time of Jesus crucification. I was looking for some sort of colossal clash between evil blood suckers and faithful Disciples of Christ. There is none of it. As a matter of fact, Jesus and his students are just a vague background for poor plot and subplots. Yes, we see Jesus few times but mostly as a shadow to events having nothing to do with faith or religion. We have plenty of mindless Roman legionaries, incompetent vampires, and Jewish inhabitants of Jerusalem who are just a fodder for the evil spirits out of Hell who are trying to kill Jesus because somehow he is dangerous to them. The plot is preposterous: Jesus death is a result of conniving scheme of vampires?!?
The language is poor, and the lengthy descriptions of protagonists, which I believe, have been produced to lengthen the book altogether, were simply boring. I am just happy I spend only few bucks on the `Kindle’ copy of this book. Otherwise I would have been extremely disappointed. That was the second book I bought from the pretty unknown author for little money, and for the second time I was dissatisfied. The large number of people who don’t have a chance to publish books via traditional publishers, go online and unfortunately publish lots of rubbish. Be aware, that $0.99 or $1.99 will not buy you a bestseller. I am sure that there is exception from the rule, but I didn’t find one yet. And ’33 A.D.’ is one of those very pitiable books.

~ by MorbidbookS, Extreme Fiction Publisher. on April 22, 2011.

One Response to “Burn, “33 A.D.”, BURN”

  1. Hey man impressive book and blog. I’m subscribing for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
K. Ms' Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ghost Cities

Tales of Mystery and the Supernatural

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

dranthonysblog

A guy with a desk...

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing Seeds for the Kingdom

whipstitchbitch's bipolar sewing bananza

a bipolar girl who loves sewing

Jon R Meyers

A Bizarre Collection of Creative Writing and Random Banter

Letters To Dionysus

I'm a nightmarist, baby.

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

The Dystopian Nation of City-State

A cruel, futuristic vision created by science fiction authors James Courtney and Kaisy Wilkerson-Mills. ©2013-2016. All Rights Reserved. All writings available through Amazon.

bdhesse

A writing WordPress.com site

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

WELCOME TO THE MEAT PARADE

NEO-BEAT PROPHETS DRIVEN BY HORROR TRANSMIT TELEPATHIC BIZARRO INTO THE AUDIENT VOID

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

The Ignited Mind !

"If you are resolutely determined to make a lawyer of yourself, the thing is more than half done already" - Abraham Lincoln.

